The History of the Morgan Dollar Mint

The Morgan Dollar Mint is one of the most iconic mints in the United States. It was established in 1878 and produced coins until 1904. The mint was named after its designer, George T. Morgan, who was the seventh Chief Engraver of the United States Mint. The Morgan Dollar was the first silver dollar minted since the Seated Liberty Dollar, which was discontinued in 1873. The Morgan Dollar was produced in several different mints, including the Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, and Carson City mints. The coins were made from 90% silver and 10% copper, and were struck in denominations of one, half, quarter, and dime. The coins were widely circulated and were used in everyday transactions. The Morgan Dollar was eventually replaced by the Peace Dollar in 1921. The Peace Dollar was designed by Anthony de Francisci and was minted until 1935. The Morgan Dollar is still highly sought after by collectors and is considered to be one of the most iconic coins in American history. The Morgan Dollar Mint is a reminder of the rich history of the United States Mint and the coins it has produced over the years. It is a testament to the craftsmanship and skill of the mint’s engravers and designers, and the coins they produced are still highly sought after by collectors today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

deneme bonusu