The History of the “State Quarters” Program

The “State Quarters” program was a series of 25 commemorative coins issued by the United States Mint from 1999 to 2008. The program was authorized by the United States Congress in 1997 and was intended to honor each of the 50 states in the Union. Each quarter was produced for about 10 weeks and featured a design representing the state it was issued for. The coins were released in the order that the states joined the Union.The designs of the coins were chosen by the governor of each state and featured a variety of images, including state symbols, landscapes, and famous people. The coins were issued in both circulation quality and uncirculated versions. The uncirculated coins were sold in special sets and were made from a higher quality of metal than the circulation coins.The “State Quarters” program was extremely popular with the public and was credited with increasing public interest in coin collecting. The program was so successful that it was extended to include the District of Columbia and the five U.S. territories. The coins were issued from 2009 to 2016 and featured designs representing each of the six areas.The “State Quarters” program was a unique and popular way to honor the history and culture of the United States. The coins are still popular with collectors and are a great way to learn about the history of the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

deneme bonusu